What Your Client Does and Where
Client Focused, Results Driven

MVC Points & Surcharges

A New Jersey Traffic Ticket Lawyer Can Protect Your License

The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC), formerly known as the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV), has the authority to add points to your driving record if you are convicted of a moving violation. The amount of points added to your record will vary depending on the severity of the violation. If you accumulate enough points within a certain period of time, the MVC has the authority to suspend your driver’s license. You may also face surcharges, annual fines assessed by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS) based on the type of violation and points.

To learn more, call us at (732) 709-7406. Your initial consultation is free.

But wait, there’s more. When you are convicted of moving violations, you may face insurance surcharges as well. Insurance eligibility points are used by the New Jersey State Department of Insurance and are typically assessed at the same rate as points assessed by the MVC on your driving record. Your insurance company may then use these points for surcharges on your auto insurance. If you have enough points, they can even cancel your policy.

With these factors in mind, it is easy to see why you should not simply accept the fact that you have been cited with a moving violation. Instead, fight back with a New Jersey traffic attorney at the Cifrodello Law Offices. We know the traffic laws and how to deal with municipal court proceedings involving all types of traffic violations. We can protect your license and your insurance rates.

At the Cifrodello Law Offices, we work with drivers accused of all types of moving violations:

  • Failure to yield
  • Racing on highway
  • Failure to observe traffic signals
  • Failure to observe stop or yield sign
  • Tailgating
  • Improper passing
  • Wrong way driving
  • Reckless driving
  • Careless driving
  • Speeding
  • Improper left, right, or U-turn
  • Failure to signal
  • Leaving the scene of an accident
  • Any other moving violation

To view a complete list of point assessments for common traffic offenses, click here.

We also help drivers who have been arrested for criminal traffic offenses, including DWI and DUI. No case is too big or too small for our New Jersey traffic violation lawyer.

Duration of License Suspension Based on Point Assessments

The length of time that the MVC can suspend your license will depend on the number of points you have on your record. If you accumulate 12-15 points within a period of 2 years or less, for example, you may face a 30-day suspension of your license. If you accumulate 25-27 points within 2 years, you may face license suspension for 150 days. If you accumulate 28 or more points within 2 years or 36 points over a period of more than 2 years, you could lose your license for at least 180 days.

The New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS)

You may also face a surcharge assessed by the NJSVS, which is a fine you must pay on an annual basis for having a certain number of points on your record or for having been convicted of certain traffic offenses, like driving while suspended or DWI. Accumulating 6 or more points within 3 years will result in a $150 surcharge, plus $25 for every point over 6. This surcharge will last for 3 years. Failing to pay NJSVS surcharges will result in the suspension of your driver’s license.

Click here to review a complete list of surcharges assessed by the NJSVS.

Contact us at (732) 709-7406 today to speak with a New Jersey traffic ticket lawyer! We represent drivers in Camden, Linden, Summit, Plainfield, Elizabeth, and across the state.